Burp Suite User Forum

Create new post

Newest Burp Suite Pro Update Issue

Russ | Last updated: Sep 04, 2022 04:10AM UTC

Hi, I've been using Burp Suite Pro whithout issue for a few months and just tried to launch Burp Suite Pro (on Windows) but instead of the usual launch sequence, it began an update and then the error: No JVM could be found on your system. Please define EXE4J_JAVA_HOME to point to an installed 64-bit JDK or JRE or download a JRE from httpx://adoptium[.]net. Was the previous version using a local jre (the jre folder in the same folder as the Burp exe) and a decision was made to require a system environment variable in this new update? If I need to do an actual jre install, which version are you recommending? Also why adoptium[.]net? Wouldn't one want to go to Java or Oracle? Thanks! Best, Russ

Liam, PortSwigger Agent | Last updated: Sep 05, 2022 09:25AM UTC

Hi Russ. Are you using the platform installer version of Burp Suite? This comes bundled with its own version of Java.

Russ | Last updated: Sep 06, 2022 01:36AM UTC